Home / State requirements / New York

New York CME and nursing CE requirements

Continuing education and license renewal rules for physicians, advanced practice clinicians and nurses licensed in New York, as recorded by ClinLicense for planning.

Planning aid only. ClinLicense is not legal or compliance advice. Boards change rules between cycles, so confirm every requirement with the board before you rely on it.

Licensing board
New York State Education Department (Office of the Professions)
License lookup
Public license verification
License renewal
Every 2 years

MD CME requirements

Reviewed 2026-10-31 This entry was last reviewed on 2026-10-31. That date records our own review and is not a board approval. Always confirm with the board before you rely on it.

Board-approved course required At least one topic must come from a course the board has approved, and a general CME course may not count. Check the board’s approved list before you buy.

Total hours
No hour minimum recorded every 3 years
License renewal
Every 2 years

Required topics

Required topics for MD in New York
TopicHoursHow oftenApplies toNote
Opioid & controlled-substance prescribing3Every cycleDEA registrantsPain management, palliative care and addiction coursework for DEA-registered prescribers, every 3 years
Infection controlNo minimumEvery 4 yearsEveryone Board-approved course requiredInfection control coursework every 4 years; no hour count fixed
Child abuse recognition2OnceEveryone Board-approved course requiredOne-time at first licensure: child abuse identification and reporting

Notes. No general CME hours for physicians. Mandated coursework: opioid/pain/addiction every 3 years for prescribers, infection control every 4 years, one-time child abuse. Registration is every 2 years.

DO CME requirements

Not yet verified Not yet verified, confirm with the board. This entry has not been checked against the board’s own published rules.

Board-approved course required At least one topic must come from a course the board has approved, and a general CME course may not count. Check the board’s approved list before you buy.

Total hours
No hour minimum recorded every 3 years
License renewal
Every 2 years

Required topics

Required topics for DO in New York
TopicHoursHow oftenApplies toNote
Opioid & controlled-substance prescribing3Every cycleDEA registrantsPain management, palliative care and addiction coursework for DEA-registered prescribers, every 3 years
Infection controlNo minimumEvery 4 yearsEveryone Board-approved course requiredInfection control coursework every 4 years; no hour count fixed
Child abuse recognition2OnceEveryone Board-approved course requiredOne-time at first licensure: child abuse identification and reporting

Notes. Copied from the MD block as a planning default; the osteopathic rules were not separately confirmed. Confirm with the board.

NP CME requirements

Reviewed 2026-11-01 This entry was last reviewed on 2026-11-01. That date records our own review and is not a board approval. Always confirm with the board before you rely on it.

Total hours
Not recorded, and the renewal cycle is not recorded
License renewal
Every 2 years

Required topics

Required topics for NP in New York
TopicHoursHow oftenApplies toNote
Pain management3Every cycleDEA registrantsPublic Health Law 3309-a(3): prescribers with a DEA registration must complete 3 hours in pain management, palliative care and addiction once every 3 years.
Child abuse recognition2Every cycleEveryoneOne-time 2 hours on identifying and reporting child abuse and maltreatment, required of registered nurses at initial licensure; NPs hold an RN license. Updated mandated-reporter coursework due by November 17, 2026 for those trained earlier.
Infection controlNot recordedEvery cycleEveryoneCourse on infection control and barrier precautions required of registered nurses every 4 years under Education Law 6505-b; hours not stated on the page.

Notes. NYSED Office of the Professions pages (nurse practitioner prescriber education, RN mandated training). No general NP CE hour total was found on the pages read; triennial registration. NP renewal fee $35 per certificate plus $73 RN registration (FAQ).

PA CME requirements

Reviewed 2026-11-01 This entry was last reviewed on 2026-11-01. That date records our own review and is not a board approval. Always confirm with the board before you rely on it.

Total hours
Not recorded, and the renewal cycle is not recorded
License renewal
Every 2 years

Required topics

Required topics for PA in New York
TopicHoursHow oftenApplies toNote
Infection controlNot recordedEvery cycleEveryonePhysicians, PAs and specialist assistants must complete infection control course work at initial licensure and every 4 years under Public Health Law 239; hours not stated on the page.
Pain management3Every cycleDEA registrantsPublic Health Law 3309-a(3): prescribers with a DEA registration must complete 3 hours in pain management, palliative care and addiction once every 3 years.

Notes. NYSED Office of the Professions PA mandated training pages. The child-abuse training requirement lists physicians and RNs but not PAs. No general PA CE hour total was found on the pages read.

CRNA CME requirements

Not yet verified Not yet verified, confirm with the board. This entry has not been checked against the board’s own published rules.

Total hours
Not recorded, and the renewal cycle is not recorded
License renewal
Every 2 years

Required topics

Required topics for CRNA in New York
TopicHoursHow oftenApplies toNote
Infection controlNot recordedEvery cycleEveryoneRegistered nurses complete infection control course work every 4 years (Education Law 6505-b); hours not stated.
Child abuse recognition2Every cycleEveryoneOne-time 2 hours of child abuse identification and reporting for registered nurses.

Notes. NYSED does not list nurse anesthetist as a separate NP specialty or credential on the nurse practitioner pages read, so a CRNA appears to be governed as a registered nurse; requirements shown are the RN mandated trainings. No CRNA-specific CE hours found. Confirm with NYSED.

New York nursing CE requirements

Nursing boards usually count continuing education in contact hours rather than CME credits, and the nursing license renews on its own schedule, which may differ from the medical board dates above. Nurse practitioners and nurse anesthetists have their own sections above.

Nurse Licensure Compact New York is not a member of the Nurse Licensure Compact. Nurses practicing in New York need a New York license, and a multistate license from a compact state does not cover practice there. The compact covers RN and LPN/LVN licenses only, and advanced practice authority is still granted state by state. This compact list was last reviewed on November 3, 2026. Read the compact guide for RNs and LPNs.

Registered nurses (RN)

Reviewed 2026-11-03 This entry was last reviewed on 2026-11-03 against the source linked below. That date records our own review and is not a board approval.

Continuing education
The board requires no general continuing education hours for this license, apart from the required topics listed below.
Nursing license renewal
Every 3 years
Board
New York State Education Department (Office of the Professions, Nursing)
Source
The board page this entry was checked against

Required topics

Required topics for RN in New York
TopicContact hoursHow oftenApplies toNote
Infection controlNot recordedEvery 4 yearsEveryoneNYSED-approved infection control and barrier precautions coursework every 4 years, recorded by attestation at registration; neither law nor regulation sets a minimum number of hours, and graduates of NYSED-registered programs and those who do not practice in New York may be exempt
Child abuse recognitionNot recordedOnceEveryoneNYSED-approved child abuse reporting coursework, required once before the first RN license unless exempt (not required of LPNs); graduates of NYSED-registered RN programs after September 1, 1990 have already met it

Notes. New York sets no continuing education hour total for nurses. The registration certificate lasts up to three years and must be renewed every three years.

Licensed practical and vocational nurses (LPN/LVN)

Reviewed 2026-11-03 This entry was last reviewed on 2026-11-03 against the source linked below. That date records our own review and is not a board approval.

Continuing education
The board requires no general continuing education hours for this license, apart from the required topics listed below.
Nursing license renewal
Every 3 years
Board
New York State Education Department (Office of the Professions, Nursing)
Source
The board page this entry was checked against

Required topics

Required topics for LPN/LVN in New York
TopicContact hoursHow oftenApplies toNote
Infection controlNot recordedEvery 4 yearsEveryoneNYSED-approved infection control and barrier precautions coursework every 4 years, recorded by attestation at registration; neither law nor regulation sets a minimum number of hours, and graduates of NYSED-registered programs and those who do not practice in New York may be exempt

Notes. New York sets no continuing education hour total for nurses. The registration certificate lasts up to three years and must be renewed every three years. The child abuse reporting course does not apply to LPNs.

Certified nurse-midwives (CNM)

Reviewed 2026-11-03 This entry was last reviewed on 2026-11-03 against the source linked below. That date records our own review and is not a board approval.

Continuing education
The board requires no general continuing education hours for this license, apart from the required topics listed below.
Nursing license renewal
Every 3 years
Board
New York State Education Department (Office of the Professions, Midwifery)
Source
The board page this entry was checked against

Required topics

Required topics for CNM in New York
TopicContact hoursHow oftenApplies toNote
Pain management3Every 3 yearsDEA registrantsPublic Health Law 3309-a: prescribers with a DEA registration complete 3 hours on pain management, palliative care and addiction once every 3 years (rule recorded on the NP record and the NYSDOH prescriber education page linked from the midwifery board page; not re-read for midwives)

Notes. NY midwives are licensed by NYSED and re-register every three years. Article 140 of the Education Law and the midwifery license pages list no continuing education hour requirement, and the infection control law (Education Law 6505-b) names nurses but not midwives.

Clinical nurse specialists (CNS)

Reviewed 2026-11-03 This entry was last reviewed on 2026-11-03 against the source linked below. That date records our own review and is not a board approval.

Continuing education
The board requires no general continuing education hours for this license, apart from the required topics listed below.
Nursing license renewal
Every 3 years
Board
New York State Education Department (Office of the Professions, Nursing)
Source
The board page this entry was checked against

Required topics

Required topics for CNS in New York
TopicContact hoursHow oftenApplies toNote
Infection controlNot recordedEvery 4 yearsEveryoneNYSED-approved infection control and barrier precautions coursework every 4 years, recorded by attestation at registration; neither law nor regulation sets a minimum number of hours, and graduates of NYSED-registered programs and those who do not practice in New York may be exempt
Child abuse recognitionNot recordedOnceEveryoneNYSED-approved child abuse reporting coursework, required once before the first RN license unless exempt (not required of LPNs); graduates of NYSED-registered RN programs after September 1, 1990 have already met it

Notes. NY certifies clinical nurse specialists by title on top of the RN license, and the RN rules apply: no hour total, infection control coursework every 4 years, and one-time child abuse reporting coursework. Registration is every three years.

See nursing CE requirements by state to compare New York with other states.

Plan this renewal

Use the free opioid CME planner to see the controlled-substance rules for New York next to other states, or the license cost calculator to estimate fees. Read how multi-state CME works if you hold more than one license.

Nurse practitioners, physician assistants, nurse anesthetists and anesthesiologist assistants usually also maintain national certification, which has its own cycle. The recertification basics guide explains how that fits alongside state rules. Nurses who hold licenses in more than one state can read the Nurse Licensure Compact for RNs and LPNs.

Keep every hour and deadline in one private place

ClinLicense tracks licenses, DEA registrations, CME credits and CE contact hours on your own devices, without an account.

Download ClinLicense