Home / State requirements / Michigan
Michigan CME and nursing CE requirements
Continuing education and license renewal rules for physicians, advanced practice clinicians and nurses licensed in Michigan, as recorded by ClinLicense for planning.
Planning aid only. ClinLicense is not legal or compliance advice. Boards change rules between cycles, so confirm every requirement with the board before you rely on it.
- Licensing board
- Michigan Board of Medicine
- License lookup
- Public license verification
- License renewal
- Every 3 years
MD CME requirements
Reviewed 2026-10-31 This entry was last reviewed on 2026-10-31. That date records our own review and is not a board approval. Always confirm with the board before you rely on it.
- Total hours
- 150 hours every 3 years, with at least 75 in Category 1 or the equivalent
- License renewal
- Every 3 years
Required topics
| Topic | Hours | How often | Applies to | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pain management | 3 | Every cycle | Everyone | Pain and symptom management, including controlled-substance topics |
| Medical ethics / professional responsibility | 1 | Every cycle | Everyone | Medical ethics |
| Human trafficking | 1 | Once | Everyone | One-time human trafficking training |
| Implicit bias | 3 | Every cycle | Everyone | 1 hour of implicit bias training for each year of the 3-year license cycle, separate from the 150 CME hours |
Notes. 150 hours per 3 years, at least 75 Category 1. Implicit bias training is 1 hour for each year of the license cycle and is separate from the 150 hours.
DO CME requirements
Not yet verified Not yet verified, confirm with the board. This entry has not been checked against the board’s own published rules.
- Total hours
- 150 hours every 3 years, with at least 75 in Category 1 or the equivalent
- License renewal
- Every 3 years
- Board for this profession
- [object Object]
Required topics
| Topic | Hours | How often | Applies to | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pain management | 3 | Every cycle | Everyone | Pain and symptom management, including controlled-substance topics |
| Medical ethics / professional responsibility | 1 | Every cycle | Everyone | Medical ethics |
| Human trafficking | 1 | Once | Everyone | One-time human trafficking training |
| Implicit bias | 3 | Every cycle | Everyone | 1 hour of implicit bias training for each year of the 3-year license cycle, separate from the 150 CME hours |
Notes. A separate osteopathic board exists in this state, and its hours may differ from the MD board (some require AOA Category 1-A credit). Hours copied from the MD block. Confirm with the board.
NP CME requirements
Reviewed 2026-11-01 This entry was last reviewed on 2026-11-01. That date records our own review and is not a board approval. Always confirm with the board before you rely on it.
- Total hours
- 25 hours every 2 years
- License renewal
- Every 3 years
Required topics
| Topic | Hours | How often | Applies to | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pain management | 2 | Every cycle | Everyone | Pain and pain symptom management, part of the 25 hours |
| Human trafficking | No minimum | Every cycle | Everyone | Hours not specified by the board. One-time training to identify victims of human trafficking (not part of CE hours); attest at renewal |
| Implicit bias | 2 | Every cycle | Everyone | 1 hour for each year of the license cycle, every renewal |
| Opioid & controlled-substance prescribing | No minimum | Every cycle | DEA registrants | Hours not specified by the board. Opioids and controlled substance awareness training attestation for those licensed to prescribe or dispense controlled substances (Board of Pharmacy rule R 338.3135) |
Notes. Nurse practitioners hold an RN license with specialty certification, requiring current national certification (attested at renewal). 25 hours of board-approved CE in the 2 years before renewal. RN renewal $131 plus RN specialty certification renewal $30.40 (renewal fee line shown as $161.40 combined on the guide). Keep records 4 years; random audit.
PA CME requirements
Reviewed 2026-11-01 This entry was last reviewed on 2026-11-01. That date records our own review and is not a board approval. Some details below are marked for confirmation, so treat those as unverified until the board confirms them. Always confirm with the board before you rely on it.
- Total hours
- Not recorded every 3 years
- License renewal
- Every 3 years
Required topics
| Topic | Hours | How often | Applies to | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Human trafficking | No minimum | Every cycle | Everyone | Hours not specified by the board. One-time training certified at renewal |
| Implicit bias | 3 | Every cycle | Everyone | 1 hour per year of the license cycle |
Notes. Michigan statute and rules do not require continuing education for PA renewal; NCCPA is not stated on the guide. Renewal cycle 3 years. Confirm with the board for any change.
CRNA CME requirements
Reviewed 2026-11-01 This entry was last reviewed on 2026-11-01. That date records our own review and is not a board approval. Some details below are marked for confirmation, so treat those as unverified until the board confirms them. Always confirm with the board before you rely on it.
- Total hours
- 25 hours every 2 years
- License renewal
- Every 3 years
Required topics
| Topic | Hours | How often | Applies to | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pain management | 2 | Every cycle | Everyone | Pain and pain symptom management, part of the 25 hours |
| Human trafficking | No minimum | Every cycle | Everyone | Hours not specified by the board. One-time training to identify victims of human trafficking (not part of CE hours); attest at renewal |
| Implicit bias | 2 | Every cycle | Everyone | 1 hour for each year of the license cycle, every renewal |
Notes. Nurse anesthetist is an RN specialty certification requiring current NBCRNA certification; 25 hours of board-approved CE in 2 years including 2 hours in pain and pain symptom management (RN renewal rule); nurse specialty holders may have additional requirements in the administrative rules. Confirm with the board.
Michigan nursing CE requirements
Nursing boards usually count continuing education in contact hours rather than CME credits, and the nursing license renews on its own schedule, which may differ from the medical board dates above. Nurse practitioners and nurse anesthetists have their own sections above.
Nurse Licensure Compact Michigan is not a member of the Nurse Licensure Compact. Nurses practicing in Michigan need a Michigan license, and a multistate license from a compact state does not cover practice there. The compact covers RN and LPN/LVN licenses only, and advanced practice authority is still granted state by state. This compact list was last reviewed on November 3, 2026. Read the compact guide for RNs and LPNs.
Registered nurses (RN)
Reviewed 2026-11-03 This entry was last reviewed on 2026-11-03 against the source linked below. That date records our own review and is not a board approval.
- Continuing education
- 25 contact hours every 2 years
- Nursing license renewal
- Every 2 years
- Board
- Michigan Board of Nursing
- Source
- The board page this entry was checked against
Required topics
| Topic | Contact hours | How often | Applies to | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pain management | 2 | Every cycle | Everyone | Pain and pain symptom management, part of the 25 hours |
| Implicit bias | 2 | Every cycle | Everyone | 1 hour for each year of the license cycle, every renewal (Michigan Public Health Code implicit bias rule) |
| Human trafficking | No minimum | Once | Everyone | One-time training to identify victims of human trafficking, attested at renewal; hours not stated here and not counted toward the 25 |
| Opioid & controlled-substance prescribing | No minimum | Every cycle | DEA registrants | Opioid and controlled substance awareness training for licensees who prescribe or dispense controlled substances (Board of Pharmacy rule R 338.3135); hours not stated |
Notes. Michigan nurses complete 25 hours of Board-approved CE in the 2 years before renewal, at least 2 in pain and pain symptom management, with no more than 12 credit hours in a 24-hour period; the Board audits at random and records are kept 4 years. A license first issued on or after May 8, 2024 must complete CE for its first renewal.
Licensed practical and vocational nurses (LPN/LVN)
Reviewed 2026-11-03 This entry was last reviewed on 2026-11-03 against the source linked below. That date records our own review and is not a board approval.
- Continuing education
- 25 contact hours every 2 years
- Nursing license renewal
- Every 2 years
- Board
- Michigan Board of Nursing
- Source
- The board page this entry was checked against
Required topics
| Topic | Contact hours | How often | Applies to | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pain management | 2 | Every cycle | Everyone | Pain and pain symptom management, part of the 25 hours |
| Implicit bias | 2 | Every cycle | Everyone | 1 hour for each year of the license cycle, every renewal (Michigan Public Health Code implicit bias rule) |
| Human trafficking | No minimum | Once | Everyone | One-time training to identify victims of human trafficking, attested at renewal; hours not stated here and not counted toward the 25 |
| Opioid & controlled-substance prescribing | No minimum | Every cycle | DEA registrants | Opioid and controlled substance awareness training for licensees who prescribe or dispense controlled substances (Board of Pharmacy rule R 338.3135); hours not stated |
Notes. Michigan nurses complete 25 hours of Board-approved CE in the 2 years before renewal, at least 2 in pain and pain symptom management, with no more than 12 credit hours in a 24-hour period; the Board audits at random and records are kept 4 years. A license first issued on or after May 8, 2024 must complete CE for its first renewal.
Certified nurse-midwives (CNM)
Reviewed 2026-11-03 This entry was last reviewed on 2026-11-03 against the source linked below. That date records our own review and is not a board approval.
- Continuing education
- 25 contact hours every 2 years
- Nursing license renewal
- Every 2 years
- Board
- Michigan Board of Nursing
- Source
- The board page this entry was checked against
Required topics
| Topic | Contact hours | How often | Applies to | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pain management | 2 | Every cycle | Everyone | Pain and pain symptom management, part of the 25 hours |
| Implicit bias | 2 | Every cycle | Everyone | 1 hour for each year of the license cycle, every renewal (Michigan Public Health Code implicit bias rule) |
| Human trafficking | No minimum | Once | Everyone | One-time training to identify victims of human trafficking, attested at renewal; hours not stated here and not counted toward the 25 |
| Opioid & controlled-substance prescribing | No minimum | Every cycle | DEA registrants | Opioid and controlled substance awareness training for licensees who prescribe or dispense controlled substances (Board of Pharmacy rule R 338.3135); hours not stated |
Notes. Michigan nurses complete 25 hours of Board-approved CE in the 2 years before renewal, at least 2 in pain and pain symptom management, with no more than 12 credit hours in a 24-hour period; the Board audits at random and records are kept 4 years. A license first issued on or after May 8, 2024 must complete CE for its first renewal. Nurse-midwives hold an RN license with a nurse-midwife specialty certification, so the RN CE rule applies and current national certification is required for the specialty.
Clinical nurse specialists (CNS)
Reviewed 2026-11-03 This entry was last reviewed on 2026-11-03 against the source linked below. That date records our own review and is not a board approval.
- Continuing education
- 25 contact hours every 2 years
- Nursing license renewal
- Every 2 years
- Board
- Michigan Board of Nursing
- Source
- The board page this entry was checked against
Required topics
| Topic | Contact hours | How often | Applies to | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pain management | 2 | Every cycle | Everyone | Pain and pain symptom management, part of the 25 hours |
| Implicit bias | 2 | Every cycle | Everyone | 1 hour for each year of the license cycle, every renewal (Michigan Public Health Code implicit bias rule) |
| Human trafficking | No minimum | Once | Everyone | One-time training to identify victims of human trafficking, attested at renewal; hours not stated here and not counted toward the 25 |
| Opioid & controlled-substance prescribing | No minimum | Every cycle | DEA registrants | Opioid and controlled substance awareness training for licensees who prescribe or dispense controlled substances (Board of Pharmacy rule R 338.3135); hours not stated |
Notes. Michigan nurses complete 25 hours of Board-approved CE in the 2 years before renewal, at least 2 in pain and pain symptom management, with no more than 12 credit hours in a 24-hour period; the Board audits at random and records are kept 4 years. A license first issued on or after May 8, 2024 must complete CE for its first renewal. Clinical nurse specialists hold an RN license with a CNS specialty certification, so the RN CE rule applies and current national certification is required for the specialty.
See nursing CE requirements by state to compare Michigan with other states.
Plan this renewal
Use the free opioid CME planner to see the controlled-substance rules for Michigan next to other states, or the license cost calculator to estimate fees. Read how multi-state CME works if you hold more than one license.
Nurse practitioners, physician assistants, nurse anesthetists and anesthesiologist assistants usually also maintain national certification, which has its own cycle. The recertification basics guide explains how that fits alongside state rules. Nurses who hold licenses in more than one state can read the Nurse Licensure Compact for RNs and LPNs.
Keep every hour and deadline in one private place
ClinLicense tracks licenses, DEA registrations, CME credits and CE contact hours on your own devices, without an account.
Download ClinLicense