Home / State requirements / Iowa

Iowa CME and nursing CE requirements

Continuing education and license renewal rules for physicians, advanced practice clinicians and nurses licensed in Iowa, as recorded by ClinLicense for planning.

Planning aid only. ClinLicense is not legal or compliance advice. Boards change rules between cycles, so confirm every requirement with the board before you rely on it.

Licensing board
Iowa Board of Medicine

MD CME requirements

Reviewed 2026-10-31 This entry was last reviewed on 2026-10-31. That date records our own review and is not a board approval. Some details below are marked for confirmation, so treat those as unverified until the board confirms them. Always confirm with the board before you rely on it.

Total hours
40 hours every 2 years, with at least 40 in Category 1 or the equivalent

Required topics

Required topics for MD in Iowa
TopicHoursHow oftenApplies toNote
Pain management2Every cycleEveryoneChronic pain management for those who treat chronic pain
Child abuse recognition2Every cycleEveryoneChild and dependent adult abuse mandatory-reporter training; approx. every five years (confirm)

Notes. 40 hours per 2 years. Mandatory-reporter hours and frequency not fully certain.

DO CME requirements

Not yet verified Not yet verified, confirm with the board. This entry has not been checked against the board’s own published rules.

Total hours
40 hours every 2 years, with at least 40 in Category 1 or the equivalent

Required topics

Required topics for DO in Iowa
TopicHoursHow oftenApplies toNote
Pain management2Every cycleEveryoneChronic pain management for those who treat chronic pain
Child abuse recognition2Every cycleEveryoneChild and dependent adult abuse mandatory-reporter training; approx. every five years (confirm)

Notes. Copied from the MD block as a planning default; the osteopathic rules were not separately confirmed. Confirm with the board.

NP CME requirements

Reviewed 2026-11-01 This entry was last reviewed on 2026-11-01. That date records our own review and is not a board approval. Always confirm with the board before you rely on it.

Total hours
36 hours every 3 years

Required topics

No mandated topics are recorded for this profession in this state. That is not the same as the board having none, so confirm with the board.

Notes. Iowa Admin. Code 481-619.2 (Nursing CE, effective 6/4/25): renewal needs 36 contact hours (or 3.6 CEUs) per renewal period, and national certification or recertification counts as the 36 hours; 481-621.3(5) ties the ARNP license expiry to the RN license, and 481-621.6(3) says the cycle is three years. ARNPs who prescribed opioids in the cycle complete 2 hours on the CDC chronic-pain opioid guideline (counts toward the 36). Iowa's separate mandatory-reporter training is not recorded here. Maintain national certification at all times (481-621.4(2)).

PA CME requirements

Reviewed 2026-11-01 This entry was last reviewed on 2026-11-01. That date records our own review and is not a board approval. Always confirm with the board before you rely on it.

Total hours
100 hours every 2 years, with at least 50 in Category 1 or the equivalent

Required topics

Required topics for PA in Iowa
TopicHoursHow oftenApplies toNote
Opioid & controlled-substance prescribing2Every cycleDEA registrantsCDC chronic-pain opioid prescribing guideline, for PAs who prescribed opioids during the renewal cycle

Notes. Iowa Admin. Code 481-782.2 (Board of Physician Assistants CE rule): 100 hours per biennium, at least 50 Category I (AAPA, AMA, AOA, AAFP or ACCME-accredited) and the remaining 50 Category I or II as accepted by NCCPA; up to 50 hours carry over; no CE for the first renewal after initial licensure. PAs who prescribed opioids in the cycle complete 2 hours on the CDC opioid prescribing guideline (counts toward the 100).

CRNA CME requirements

Reviewed 2026-11-01 This entry was last reviewed on 2026-11-01. That date records our own review and is not a board approval. Always confirm with the board before you rely on it.

Total hours
36 hours every 3 years

Required topics

No mandated topics are recorded for this profession in this state. That is not the same as the board having none, so confirm with the board.

Notes. Iowa Admin. Code 481-619.2 (Nursing CE, effective 6/4/25): renewal needs 36 contact hours (or 3.6 CEUs) per renewal period, and national certification or recertification counts as the 36 hours; 481-621.3(5) ties the ARNP license expiry to the RN license, and 481-621.6(3) says the cycle is three years. ARNPs (CRNAs are ARNPs in Iowa, 481-621.2) who prescribed opioids in the cycle complete 2 hours on the CDC chronic-pain opioid guideline (counts toward the 36). Iowa's separate mandatory-reporter training is not recorded here. Maintain NBCRNA certification at all times (481-621.4(2)).

Iowa nursing CE requirements

Nursing boards usually count continuing education in contact hours rather than CME credits, and the nursing license renews on its own schedule, which may differ from the medical board dates above. Nurse practitioners and nurse anesthetists have their own sections above.

Nurse Licensure Compact Iowa has implemented the Nurse Licensure Compact. A registered or practical nurse whose primary state of residence is Iowa can hold a multistate license issued by Iowa, which carries the privilege to practice in the other compact states, and a nurse with a multistate license from another compact state can practice in Iowa under that privilege. Renewal and CE for a multistate license follow the rules of the home state that issued it. The compact covers RN and LPN/LVN licenses only, and advanced practice authority is still granted state by state. This compact list was last reviewed on November 3, 2026. Read the compact guide for RNs and LPNs.

Registered nurses (RN)

Reviewed 2026-11-03 This entry was last reviewed on 2026-11-03 against the source linked below. That date records our own review and is not a board approval.

Continuing education
36 contact hours every 3 years
Other ways to meet it
Code 481-619.2 (effective 6/4/25) requires 36 contact hours or 3.6 CEUs per 3-year renewal period; current national certification counts as the 36 hours, a nurse residency program counts as 36, and a board-approved refresher course, 60 preceptor hours (6 hours) and academic coursework also count.
Nursing license renewal
Every 3 years, based on end of your birth month
Board
Iowa Board of Nursing
Source
The board page this entry was checked against

Required topics

Required topics for RN in Iowa
TopicContact hoursHow oftenApplies toNote
Child abuse recognitionNot recordedEvery cycleSome licensees, see the noteChild abuse identification and reporting training within the previous 3 years for licensees who regularly examine, attend, counsel or treat children in Iowa; hours not stated in the rule
Dependent adult abuseNot recordedEvery cycleSome licensees, see the noteDependent adult abuse identification and reporting training within the previous 3 years for licensees who regularly examine, attend, counsel or treat adults in Iowa; hours not stated in the rule

Notes. Iowa Admin. Code 481-619.2 (effective 6/4/25) requires 36 contact hours or 3.6 CEUs per 3-year renewal period; current national certification counts as the 36 hours, a nurse residency program counts as 36, and a board-approved refresher course, 60 preceptor hours (6 hours) and academic coursework also count. Up to 18 surplus hours may carry over, and exemptions include military duty, a license in another state with CE while living there, work abroad and illness. Licenses expire on the 15th day of the licensee's birth month (481-617.8). The mandated-reporter courses from the Iowa Department of Health and Human Services are a separate renewal attestation, and their hours are not stated in the rule.

Licensed practical and vocational nurses (LPN/LVN)

Reviewed 2026-11-03 This entry was last reviewed on 2026-11-03 against the source linked below. That date records our own review and is not a board approval.

Continuing education
36 contact hours every 3 years
Other ways to meet it
Code 481-619.2 (effective 6/4/25) requires 36 contact hours or 3.6 CEUs per 3-year renewal period; current national certification counts as the 36 hours, a nurse residency program counts as 36, and a board-approved refresher course, 60 preceptor hours (6 hours) and academic coursework also count.
Nursing license renewal
Every 3 years, based on end of your birth month
Board
Iowa Board of Nursing
Source
The board page this entry was checked against

Required topics

Required topics for LPN/LVN in Iowa
TopicContact hoursHow oftenApplies toNote
Child abuse recognitionNot recordedEvery cycleSome licensees, see the noteChild abuse identification and reporting training within the previous 3 years for licensees who regularly examine, attend, counsel or treat children in Iowa; hours not stated in the rule
Dependent adult abuseNot recordedEvery cycleSome licensees, see the noteDependent adult abuse identification and reporting training within the previous 3 years for licensees who regularly examine, attend, counsel or treat adults in Iowa; hours not stated in the rule

Notes. Iowa Admin. Code 481-619.2 (effective 6/4/25) requires 36 contact hours or 3.6 CEUs per 3-year renewal period; current national certification counts as the 36 hours, a nurse residency program counts as 36, and a board-approved refresher course, 60 preceptor hours (6 hours) and academic coursework also count. Up to 18 surplus hours may carry over, and exemptions include military duty, a license in another state with CE while living there, work abroad and illness. Licenses expire on the 15th day of the licensee's birth month (481-617.8). The mandated-reporter courses from the Iowa Department of Health and Human Services are a separate renewal attestation, and their hours are not stated in the rule.

Certified nurse-midwives (CNM)

Reviewed 2026-11-03 This entry was last reviewed on 2026-11-03 against the source linked below. That date records our own review and is not a board approval.

Continuing education
36 contact hours every 3 years
Nursing license renewal
Every 3 years, based on end of your birth month
Board
Iowa Board of Nursing
Source
The board page this entry was checked against

Required topics

Required topics for CNM in Iowa
TopicContact hoursHow oftenApplies toNote
Child abuse recognitionNot recordedEvery cycleSome licensees, see the noteChild abuse identification and reporting training within the previous 3 years for licensees who regularly examine, attend, counsel or treat children in Iowa; hours not stated in the rule
Dependent adult abuseNot recordedEvery cycleSome licensees, see the noteDependent adult abuse identification and reporting training within the previous 3 years for licensees who regularly examine, attend, counsel or treat adults in Iowa; hours not stated in the rule
Opioid & controlled-substance prescribing2Every cycleSome licensees, see the noteCDC chronic-pain opioid guideline; ARNPs who prescribed opioids in the cycle; counts toward the 36

Notes. ARNP rule (Iowa Admin. Code 481-621.2 lists CNMs and CNSs as ARNP roles): the ARNP license follows the RN license's 3-year cycle and 481-619 applies, so 36 hours are owed and current national certification counts as all 36. An ARNP who prescribed opioids in the cycle completes 2 hours on the CDC chronic-pain opioid guideline, which counts toward the 36. The mandated-reporter training attestation also applies.

Clinical nurse specialists (CNS)

Reviewed 2026-11-03 This entry was last reviewed on 2026-11-03 against the source linked below. That date records our own review and is not a board approval.

Continuing education
36 contact hours every 3 years
Nursing license renewal
Every 3 years, based on end of your birth month
Board
Iowa Board of Nursing
Source
The board page this entry was checked against

Required topics

Required topics for CNS in Iowa
TopicContact hoursHow oftenApplies toNote
Child abuse recognitionNot recordedEvery cycleSome licensees, see the noteChild abuse identification and reporting training within the previous 3 years for licensees who regularly examine, attend, counsel or treat children in Iowa; hours not stated in the rule
Dependent adult abuseNot recordedEvery cycleSome licensees, see the noteDependent adult abuse identification and reporting training within the previous 3 years for licensees who regularly examine, attend, counsel or treat adults in Iowa; hours not stated in the rule
Opioid & controlled-substance prescribing2Every cycleSome licensees, see the noteCDC chronic-pain opioid guideline; ARNPs who prescribed opioids in the cycle; counts toward the 36

Notes. ARNP rule (Iowa Admin. Code 481-621.2 lists CNMs and CNSs as ARNP roles): the ARNP license follows the RN license's 3-year cycle and 481-619 applies, so 36 hours are owed and current national certification counts as all 36. An ARNP who prescribed opioids in the cycle completes 2 hours on the CDC chronic-pain opioid guideline, which counts toward the 36. The mandated-reporter training attestation also applies.

See nursing CE requirements by state to compare Iowa with other states.

Plan this renewal

Use the free opioid CME planner to see the controlled-substance rules for Iowa next to other states, or the license cost calculator to estimate fees. Read how multi-state CME works if you hold more than one license.

Nurse practitioners, physician assistants, nurse anesthetists and anesthesiologist assistants usually also maintain national certification, which has its own cycle. The recertification basics guide explains how that fits alongside state rules. Nurses who hold licenses in more than one state can read the Nurse Licensure Compact for RNs and LPNs.

Keep every hour and deadline in one private place

ClinLicense tracks licenses, DEA registrations, CME credits and CE contact hours on your own devices, without an account.

Download ClinLicense