Home / State requirements / Illinois

Illinois CME and nursing CE requirements

Continuing education and license renewal rules for physicians, advanced practice clinicians and nurses licensed in Illinois, as recorded by ClinLicense for planning.

Planning aid only. ClinLicense is not legal or compliance advice. Boards change rules between cycles, so confirm every requirement with the board before you rely on it.

Licensing board
Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
License lookup
Public license verification
License renewal
Every 3 years, based on a fixed calendar date (07-31)

MD CME requirements

Reviewed 2026-10-31 This entry was last reviewed on 2026-10-31. That date records our own review and is not a board approval. Some details below are marked for confirmation, so treat those as unverified until the board confirms them. Always confirm with the board before you rely on it.

Total hours
150 hours every 3 years, with at least 60 in Category 1 or the equivalent
License renewal
Every 3 years, based on a fixed calendar date (07-31)

Required topics

Required topics for MD in Illinois
TopicHoursHow oftenApplies toNote
Opioid & controlled-substance prescribing3Every cycleDEA registrantsSafe opioid prescribing for prescribers with CS license
Implicit bias1Every cycleEveryoneImplicit bias awareness for those with direct patient care; frequency to confirm
Sexual harassment prevention1Every cycleEveryoneSexual harassment prevention training, 1 hour each renewal

Notes. 150 hours per 3 years, at least 60 Category 1. Licenses expire July 31 on a fixed 3-year cycle (the 2026 renewal moved them to 2029). One hour of sexual harassment prevention training is required each renewal.

DO CME requirements

Not yet verified Not yet verified, confirm with the board. This entry has not been checked against the board’s own published rules.

Total hours
150 hours every 3 years, with at least 60 in Category 1 or the equivalent
License renewal
Every 3 years, based on a fixed calendar date (07-31)

Required topics

Required topics for DO in Illinois
TopicHoursHow oftenApplies toNote
Opioid & controlled-substance prescribing3Every cycleDEA registrantsSafe opioid prescribing for prescribers with CS license
Implicit bias1Every cycleEveryoneImplicit bias awareness for those with direct patient care; frequency to confirm
Sexual harassment prevention1Every cycleEveryoneSexual harassment prevention training, 1 hour each renewal

Notes. Copied from the MD block as a planning default; the osteopathic rules were not separately confirmed. Confirm with the board.

NP CME requirements

Reviewed 2026-11-01 This entry was last reviewed on 2026-11-01. That date records our own review and is not a board approval. Some details below are marked for confirmation, so treat those as unverified until the board confirms them. Always confirm with the board before you rely on it.

Total hours
80 hours every 2 years
License renewal
Every 3 years, based on a fixed calendar date (07-31)

Required topics

Required topics for NP in Illinois
TopicHoursHow oftenApplies toNote
Pharmacology20Every cycleEveryoneAt least 50 of the 80 hours must come from CE programs that include no less than 20 hours of pharmacotherapeutics
Opioid & controlled-substance prescribing10Every cycleEveryoneIncluded within the 20 pharmacotherapeutics hours: opioid prescribing or substance abuse education
Implicit bias1Every cycleEveryoneCounts toward the 80; first renewal exempt
Sexual harassment prevention1Every cycleEveryoneCounts toward the 80
Alzheimer's / dementia1Every cycleNurses in direct patient careOnly for APRNs with direct patient contact with adults age 26 and over; counts toward the 80

Notes. Per IDFPR APRN CE FAQ (written for the 2024 renewal; rule 68 IAC 1300.130). 80 hours per 2-year cycle in the APRN's specialty; max 30 hours may come from presentations, evidence-based practice or QI projects, publications, research or preceptor hours. Nurses who work with children must complete mandated reporter (child abuse) training at least every 6 years, which may count toward CE (hours not stated). First renewal is exempt from CE. Confirm the current cycle with the board.

PA CME requirements

Reviewed 2026-11-01 This entry was last reviewed on 2026-11-01. That date records our own review and is not a board approval. Some details below are marked for confirmation, so treat those as unverified until the board confirms them. Always confirm with the board before you rely on it.

Total hours
50 hours every 2 years
License renewal
Every 3 years, based on a fixed calendar date (07-31)

Required topics

No mandated topics are recorded for this profession in this state. That is not the same as the board having none, so confirm with the board.

Notes. 225 ILCS 95/11.5: the Department's rules must require 50 hours of continuing education per 2-year renewal cycle, and completing the 50 hours satisfies the renewal CE requirement. The section is scheduled to be repealed January 1, 2028, so re-check after that date. The category split and topics set by IDFPR rules are not confirmed here.

CRNA CME requirements

Reviewed 2026-11-01 This entry was last reviewed on 2026-11-01. That date records our own review and is not a board approval. Some details below are marked for confirmation, so treat those as unverified until the board confirms them. Always confirm with the board before you rely on it.

Total hours
80 hours every 2 years
License renewal
Every 3 years, based on a fixed calendar date (07-31)

Required topics

Required topics for CRNA in Illinois
TopicHoursHow oftenApplies toNote
Pharmacology20Every cycleEveryoneAt least 50 of the 80 hours must come from CE programs that include no less than 20 hours of pharmacotherapeutics
Opioid & controlled-substance prescribing10Every cycleEveryoneIncluded within the 20 pharmacotherapeutics hours: opioid prescribing or substance abuse education
Implicit bias1Every cycleEveryoneCounts toward the 80; first renewal exempt
Sexual harassment prevention1Every cycleEveryoneCounts toward the 80
Alzheimer's / dementia1Every cycleNurses in direct patient careOnly for APRNs with direct patient contact with adults age 26 and over; counts toward the 80

Notes. Per IDFPR APRN CE FAQ (written for the 2024 renewal; rule 68 IAC 1300.130). 80 hours per 2-year cycle in the APRN's specialty; max 30 hours may come from presentations, evidence-based practice or QI projects, publications, research or preceptor hours. Nurses who work with children must complete mandated reporter (child abuse) training at least every 6 years, which may count toward CE (hours not stated). First renewal is exempt from CE. Confirm the current cycle with the board. Nurse anesthetists are APRNs in Illinois, so this APRN rule applies; confirm with the board.

Illinois nursing CE requirements

Nursing boards usually count continuing education in contact hours rather than CME credits, and the nursing license renews on its own schedule, which may differ from the medical board dates above. Nurse practitioners and nurse anesthetists have their own sections above.

Nurse Licensure Compact Illinois is not a member of the Nurse Licensure Compact. Nurses practicing in Illinois need a Illinois license, and a multistate license from a compact state does not cover practice there. The compact covers RN and LPN/LVN licenses only, and advanced practice authority is still granted state by state. This compact list was last reviewed on November 3, 2026. Read the compact guide for RNs and LPNs.

Registered nurses (RN)

Reviewed 2026-11-03 This entry was last reviewed on 2026-11-03 against the source linked below. That date records our own review and is not a board approval.

Continuing education
20 contact hours every 2 years
Nursing license renewal
Every 2 years, based on a fixed calendar date (06-30)
Board
Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation, Nursing
Source
The board page this entry was checked against

Required topics

Required topics for RN in Illinois
TopicContact hoursHow oftenApplies toNote
Implicit bias1Every cycleEveryoneCounts toward the 20; first renewal exempt
Sexual harassment prevention1Every cycleEveryoneCounts toward the 20
Alzheimer's / dementia1Every cycleSome licensees, see the noteOnly for nurses with direct patient contact with adults age 26 and over; counts toward the CE hours
Child abuse recognitionNot recordedEvery 6 yearsSome licensees, see the noteMandated reporter training at least every 6 years for nurses who work with children; counts toward CE, hours not stated

Notes. Rule 68 IAC 1300.130: 20 approved CE hours in the 24 months before expiry, and the first renewal of an Illinois license is exempt. The mandated-reporter training for nurses who work with children is required at least every 6 years and may count toward CE. Illinois RN licenses expire June 30 of even-numbered years.

Licensed practical and vocational nurses (LPN/LVN)

Reviewed 2026-11-03 This entry was last reviewed on 2026-11-03 against the source linked below. That date records our own review and is not a board approval.

Continuing education
20 contact hours every 2 years
Nursing license renewal
Every 2 years, based on a fixed calendar date (01-31)
Board
Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation, Nursing
Source
The board page this entry was checked against

Required topics

Required topics for LPN/LVN in Illinois
TopicContact hoursHow oftenApplies toNote
Implicit bias1Every cycleEveryoneCounts toward the 20; first renewal exempt
Sexual harassment prevention1Every cycleEveryoneCounts toward the 20
Alzheimer's / dementia1Every cycleSome licensees, see the noteOnly for nurses with direct patient contact with adults age 26 and over; counts toward the CE hours
Child abuse recognitionNot recordedEvery 6 yearsSome licensees, see the noteMandated reporter training at least every 6 years for nurses who work with children; counts toward CE, hours not stated

Notes. Rule 68 IAC 1300.130: 20 approved CE hours in the 24 months before expiry, and the first renewal of an Illinois license is exempt. The mandated-reporter training for nurses who work with children is required at least every 6 years and may count toward CE. Illinois LPN licenses expire January 31 of odd-numbered years (the board's FAQ gives January 31, 2027 as the current deadline).

Certified nurse-midwives (CNM)

Reviewed 2026-11-03 This entry was last reviewed on 2026-11-03 against the source linked below. That date records our own review and is not a board approval. Some details are marked for confirmation, so treat those as unverified until the board confirms them.

Continuing education
80 contact hours every 2 years
Nursing license renewal
Every 2 years, based on a fixed calendar date (06-30)
Board
Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation, Nursing
Source
The board page this entry was checked against

Required topics

Required topics for CNM in Illinois
TopicContact hoursHow oftenApplies toNote
Pharmacology20Every cycleEveryoneAt least 50 of the 80 hours from programs that include no less than 20 hours of pharmacotherapeutics
Opioid & controlled-substance prescribing10Every cycleEveryoneIncluded within the 20 pharmacotherapeutics hours: opioid prescribing or substance abuse education
Implicit bias1Every cycleEveryoneCounts toward the 80; first renewal exempt
Sexual harassment prevention1Every cycleEveryoneCounts toward the 80
Alzheimer's / dementia1Every cycleSome licensees, see the noteOnly for nurses with direct patient contact with adults age 26 and over; counts toward the CE hours
Child abuse recognitionNot recordedEvery 6 yearsSome licensees, see the noteMandated reporter training at least every 6 years for nurses who work with children; counts toward CE, hours not stated

Notes. Rule 68 IAC 1300.130(a)(1)(C) applies to all advanced practice registered nurses, which in Illinois includes CNMs and CNSs: 80 hours in the APRN's specialty per 2-year cycle, at least 50 of them in programs that include no less than 20 hours of pharmacotherapeutics (10 of those on opioid prescribing or substance abuse), and at most 30 hours from presentations, evidence-based practice or QI projects, publications, research or preceptor hours. Completing the 80 hours satisfies the RN license's CE, the first renewal is exempt, and the FAQ was written for the June 30, 2024 renewal, so the current cycle should be confirmed with the board.

Clinical nurse specialists (CNS)

Reviewed 2026-11-03 This entry was last reviewed on 2026-11-03 against the source linked below. That date records our own review and is not a board approval. Some details are marked for confirmation, so treat those as unverified until the board confirms them.

Continuing education
80 contact hours every 2 years
Nursing license renewal
Every 2 years, based on a fixed calendar date (06-30)
Board
Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation, Nursing
Source
The board page this entry was checked against

Required topics

Required topics for CNS in Illinois
TopicContact hoursHow oftenApplies toNote
Pharmacology20Every cycleEveryoneAt least 50 of the 80 hours from programs that include no less than 20 hours of pharmacotherapeutics
Opioid & controlled-substance prescribing10Every cycleEveryoneIncluded within the 20 pharmacotherapeutics hours: opioid prescribing or substance abuse education
Implicit bias1Every cycleEveryoneCounts toward the 80; first renewal exempt
Sexual harassment prevention1Every cycleEveryoneCounts toward the 80
Alzheimer's / dementia1Every cycleSome licensees, see the noteOnly for nurses with direct patient contact with adults age 26 and over; counts toward the CE hours
Child abuse recognitionNot recordedEvery 6 yearsSome licensees, see the noteMandated reporter training at least every 6 years for nurses who work with children; counts toward CE, hours not stated

Notes. Rule 68 IAC 1300.130(a)(1)(C) applies to all advanced practice registered nurses, which in Illinois includes CNMs and CNSs: 80 hours in the APRN's specialty per 2-year cycle, at least 50 of them in programs that include no less than 20 hours of pharmacotherapeutics (10 of those on opioid prescribing or substance abuse), and at most 30 hours from presentations, evidence-based practice or QI projects, publications, research or preceptor hours. Completing the 80 hours satisfies the RN license's CE, the first renewal is exempt, and the FAQ was written for the June 30, 2024 renewal, so the current cycle should be confirmed with the board.

See nursing CE requirements by state to compare Illinois with other states.

Plan this renewal

Use the free opioid CME planner to see the controlled-substance rules for Illinois next to other states, or the license cost calculator to estimate fees. Read how multi-state CME works if you hold more than one license.

Nurse practitioners, physician assistants, nurse anesthetists and anesthesiologist assistants usually also maintain national certification, which has its own cycle. The recertification basics guide explains how that fits alongside state rules. Nurses who hold licenses in more than one state can read the Nurse Licensure Compact for RNs and LPNs.

Keep every hour and deadline in one private place

ClinLicense tracks licenses, DEA registrations, CME credits and CE contact hours on your own devices, without an account.

Download ClinLicense